Tuesday, 13 March 2018


Title: The One
Author: John Marrs
Genre: Sci-Fi, Thriller
Publisher: Hanover Square
Release Date: 20th February 2018

BLURB from Goodreads
How far would you go to find The One?

A simple DNA test is all it takes. Just a quick mouth swab and soon you’ll be matched with your perfect partner—the one you’re genetically made for.

That’s the promise made by Match Your DNA. A decade ago, the company announced that they had found the gene that pairs each of us with our soul mate. Since then, millions of people around the world have been matched. But the discovery has its downsides: test results have led to the breakup of countless relationships and upended the traditional ideas of dating, romance and love.

Now five very different people have received the notification that they’ve been “Matched.” They’re each about to meet their one true love. But “happily ever after” isn’t guaranteed for everyone. Because even soul mates have secrets. And some are more shocking than others…


After reading the blurb for The One, I knew I had to read it. The whole idea of being able to find your "perfect match", your "perfect soul mate" by simply sending in a sample of your DNA had me thinking that with all the dating apps continually being brought out, exactly how far away can this scenario be?

I wasn't totally sure whether I liked the cover or not. I think the cover it has appeals to a general fiction and thriller audience but I think it maybe won't appeal as much to Sci-fi, and Dystopian readers. The title of the book that has the O in, which appears as a blood splat with a thumbprint in it, is a good representation of the killer in the book as well as being a subtle nod to the DNA needed for the Your DNA Match service. Everyone that has read my reviews know that I love a good byline and I really like the use of "Have you met your match?" as it can have more than one meaning which you will uncover as you read the book.

The genres I have seen listed for this book are Sci-Fi and Thriller which I agree with both those, though I would also add dystopian and futuristic too.

How can I describe this book? It's sort of one large story split into five different individual character's stories of what happens to them, their matches and the people around them when they use the "Match Your DNA" service. After watching TV programs such as Married At First Sight, Blind Date, and Take Me Out the type of app/service called Match Your DNA featured in this book, seems like a viable, and believable prospect in the not too distant future!

So, there are many different people that choose to be matched to their soul mate via the Match Your DNA service. I reckon most people would admit to having and withholding have a few secrets they don't reveal straight away when meeting new people or potential soul mates but wow! some of the characters in this book take "secrets' and withholding information to a whole new level!

As a reader we meet the five main characters that are the basis of the whole book. The five characters cover a whole range of people from diverse backgrounds and are using Match Your DNA service for their own individual reasons. But can an app really match you to your soulmate?

There's Mandy who desperately wants to have the fairy-tale wedding and family that her sisters appear to have, but she hasn't met her Mr Right yet. So she sees "Match Your DNA" as the ultimate answer. Mandy receives her matche's name and of course immediately checks him out on facebook. Mandy is quite literally drooling over Richard Taylor and cannot wait to meet him in person. Without giving too much away things don't really go as straight forward as she hoped. After a massive disappointment when she turns up to meet her DNA match. When another opportunity arises that may give Mandy part of her dream, as you'd expect she doesn't ask very many questions. Will Mandy's fantasy family be realised or in her effort to achieve her dream could she end up being taken advantage of by other members of the Taylor Family that she meets.

Christopher is another one of the people that uses the Match Your DNA service as he is socially awkward and only really knows what he should do, say and interact with people by reading books. Christopher receives the notification of his match as he sits looking around his latest victim's home! Christopher is a perfectionist, perhaps a little OCD. He plans his murder meticulously but soon becomes distracted by the thoughts of his perfect soul mate and who that could be. When he meets her and learns more about her it makes his secret killing even more of a thrill for him. 

Jade has been messaging her match Kevin for quite a while whilst continuing to work what some would call a dead end job at a hotel near to her parents home with very few prospects. The job Jade had really wanted to do was in travel & tourism but after taking a temporary job at the hotel she had just never moved on. Though Jade had always kept her dream of wanting to travel but whilst her friends had gap years she was too busy working hard to pay off her student loan. It is her colleagues at the hotel that give her the final encouragement needed to take her fate in her own hands and buy herself a ticket on her credit card and turn up on the doorstep or rather at the farm where her true match lives and works in Australia. Once again Jade finds things are not always what they seem and has some tough decisions to make.

I won't go into detail on the other two characters as I think that would be going into too much detail and could spoil the individual reading experience. I did enjoy reading Nick's story, how he was supposedly so happy yet a doubt was put in his mind, by, in my opinion a kind of peer pressure so much he took the DNA Match test which caused him so many problems until fate took over. In Ellie's story once again everything seemed to be a fairy-tale but it just wasn't as it seemed. I adored the character of Andrei from Ellie's circle of friends/colleagues and wished he had featured more within her tale. Perhaps had she listened to him a little more things would have been different. To be honest I thought he would have been as near a perfect match for her as possible. I was surprised when Andrei just left before the "end" of Ellie's story. I didn't think that was something he would have done so easily.

I did love how the different characters had their own chapters. It also kept you hooked into the book as usually each chapter had a little bit of a cliffhanger too. There are lots of clues and a few red herrings as to what is happening to the individual characters within their own chapters. It really was like reading five different stories centered around the five main characters, but at the same time they all had the Your DNA Match in common and that theme was running through the whole book too.

My favourite characters were Jade, Kevin and his family, including his brother Mark, and their mother Susan. I love the way Jade follows her dream and even when she arrives to a situation nothing like the one she expected, she is determined to stay around even when it seems there can be no real happy ending for her and her true match. 
I also enjoyed disliking Tim who deceives his perfect match Ellie. It's really quite ironic when it is revealed exactly who Ellie is.

Wow! Full of twists and turns. The complexities of a DNA system that can match you with 'The One' you are meant to be with. That one person you meet that you immediately just know you are meant to be with. 

What an interesting and amazingly different read. From the individual fascinating characters and their stories to the details and behind the scenes view of the Match Your DNA group. This book is like a jigsaw of individual tales that fit together to form part of a larger picture of peoples' ideologies on love and their one true match.

Thursday, 8 March 2018


Title: More Than We Can Tell
Series: Letters To The Lost
*While this book exists in the same universe as Letters to the Lost, it is a standalone title.*
Author: Brigid Kemmerer
Genre: YA, Teen, Contemporary, Romance
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing UK & ANZ
Release Date: 8th March 2018

BLURB from Goodreads
Rev Fletcher is battling the demons of his past. But with loving adoptive parents by his side, he’s managed to keep them at bay...until he gets a letter from his abusive father and the trauma of his childhood comes hurtling back.

Emma Blue spends her time perfecting the computer game she built from scratch, rather than facing her parents’ crumbling marriage. She can solve any problem with the right code, but when an online troll’s harassment escalates, she’s truly afraid.

When Rev and Emma meet, they both long to lift the burden of their secrets and bond instantly over their shared turmoil. But when their situations turn dangerous, their trust in each other will be tested in ways they never expected. This must-read story will once again have readers falling for Brigid Kemmerer’s emotional storytelling.


Having read Letters To The Lost I really wanted to read this book, especially when I realised the main character in this book was a character I had met and loved in Letters To The Lost. Who couldn't love Rev Fletcher? Would this book show me a different bad boy side or would I love him even more? I should also probably say that this book, More Than We Can Tell had the amazing Letters To The Lost book to live up.

So I've seen a couple of covers for this book and have chosen to feature the UK cover for my review and done a cover compare below for both covers. 
This cover has a white background and has what I would describe as text or speech bubbles with the title placed within them. I love the colours within these "bubbles". This cover also has a great byline which say's "Looking For Answers, They Found Each Other" which perfectly fits the situation of how Rev and Emma meet and tentatively begin their friendship which then leads onto a more romantic relationship. 

The genre's I have seen listed for this book so far are, Teen, YA, Contemporary and Romance which I totally agree with and would add that I think this book would appeal to older readers too. I can definitely say I don't fit the Teen or YA age group but read and . . . well read the rest of my review to find out what I thought.

As the blurb explains, and we learnt in Letters To The Lost, Rev has had a deeply troubled past and suffered at the hands of his so called religious father. His father used to quote parts of the bible to Rev. There was a fitting quote to hurl at Rev for any and every transgression he either did commit or that his father said he had committed. I guess at the end of Letters To The Lost, Rev was happily learning to enjoy life and living with his adoptive parents Geoff and Kristin. Suddenly, all that changes when he receives a letter from his father. Rev's instant reaction is to message back saying to leave him alone. Rev soon regrets replying as this seems to encourage his father even more! Rev still struggles to believe that his new mum and dad fully accept him flaws and all. Torn between bothering his new parents and the guilt that was instilled in him as a youngster by his father, he feels he has to reply. This interaction continues and Rev's emotions become more and more troubled. Rev also questions his own actions when he is angry, thinking maybe one day he won't stop. He thinks he could seriously hurt or even kill someone. More and more Rev wonders what his father wants by contacting him.

The other main character in this book is Emma Blue aka Azure M (her gaming name) who I wasn't sure about to begin with as she came across as a little spoilt and perhaps ungrateful, maybe a little selfish too. Emma belittles her best friend Caits hobby of you tubing about beauty and different make up styles and techniques. Emma seems to have the attitude that her gaming creation is much more important than any of Caits sessions on you tube.
When Emma's world as she knows it falls apart, we see a different side of her and I admit I did end up growing to love her during the course of the book. Emma seems to have been quite sheltered and naive. Her mum works in the medical profession and would like Emma to aspire to such a career. However Emma is more into technology and gaming like her father. Emma has designed her own game and people are actually playing it. One guy called Ethan tells her its great and regularly teams up with her virtually to play on Otherland's (Emma's game) and other online games too. The only sign of trouble on Emma's radar is another gamer called N1ghtmare who is basically trolling her. 

Rev and Emma accidentally meet due to Emma's dog taking a liking to Rev when it runs off. They talk and end up meeting again and again, slowly they begin to trust each other with their secrets. troubles and family problems.

Things rapidly become worse for Emma when she is suddenly hit with the news her parents are divorcing and the house she has grown up in will need to be sold! Then her troll turns a bad day into a hellish one! It is lucky for her that she is good with technology and has Rev when she gets herself into a rather tricky, dangerous situation.

The other complex troubled youngster in this book that comes into the temporary care of Geoff and Krisitin is Matthew. Matthew is quite similar to Rev, in that he doesn't talk much and tries to keep himself to himself. Rev tries a few times to reach out to Matthew but is rejected. The one that "breaks the ice" is Declan. It seems this is Declans specialty as it was him that had the first break through with Rev when he first arrived at Geoff and Kristin's home. Some of Matthews back story is revealed and when he is bullied at school Rev and Declan offer both, their friendship and support.

It was great to catch up with Declan and his own life is going in a good direction with Juliet. Though when he decides to visit his father for the very first time in years it is Rev who he asks to accompany him. The other important event in the book for Declan is the arrival of his mum and her new partners baby which makes the baby his half sibling. 

At around 60%-65% I had already decided that this was another brilliant, emotional book by Brigid Kemmerer. I honestly didn't think this book would be as good as Letters To The Lost, it isn't, it's even better! I'm totally besotted with Rev and Emma. Though I have an increasingly uneasy creepy feeling about Ethan & Nightmare. 

My immediate thoughts when I finished this book were, wow is it that late? I finished reading well after midnight. I couldn't put this book down once I got to 72%. It really was an amazing book, full of realistic characters, some that you could either instantly like and grow to love during the course of the book. This book tackles some tough subjects really well. Brigid had me hooked from the beginning and held fast to the very last word at the end. If you read and loved Letters To The Lost you will adore reading more about Rev Fletcher in this book. 

I wonder if there could be a third book maybe with Matthew as the central character? Maybe Geoff & Kristin would eventually adopt him too? I would certainly love more Rev & Emma and Declan & Juliet! Maybe Matthew could reveal even more of his background and maybe meet a girlfriend etc. Please Brigid say there's going to be more!?


So which cover is your favourite and why?

Friday, 2 March 2018


Title: Summit Of The Wolf
Series: Silver Wolf Clan
Author: Tera Shanley
Genre: Sci-Fi, Fantasy, Romance, Urban Fantasy, Shapeshifter, Werewolves
Publisher: Lyrical Press, Kensington Books
Release Date: 1st September 2015

BLURB from Goodreads
An Unbreakable Bond

Morgan Carter is a claimed werewolf. Only her mate, Greyson Crawford, has the right to protect her, and to love her. But that hasn’t stopped rival packs from challenging Greyson’s claim. Morgan is the last silver wolf—the only female with the ability to produce werewolf offspring, which means there are many who would defy pack law to make her their own.

An Unstoppable Evil

When war comes to the Silver Wolf Clan on the eve of The Summit, Morgan and Greyson have no choice but to fight for their kind. With the arrival of an ancient enemy, the two realize that the war has only just begun, and to survive the greatest threat they have ever faced, they must learn to trust each other again…


I had mixed feelings about reading this book because on one hand, I wanted to know more and read more about the characters but I knew there were no more books available after this one, so on the other hand, I kind of didn't want to read it as I didn't want the series to come to an end either.

This cover is dominated by Morgan both in her human form in the foreground and in her Silver Wolf form in the background. The font style and placement of the book title, series name and author name are all in the same style as the rest of the series which makes the series really cohesive. I bet they look brilliant side by side on o book shelf! All the individual book covers would encourage me to pick them up in a book store to learn more about them so I'd say they certainly do their job well.

As I have said with the other titles in the series the genres I have seen listed for this book series are Paranormal, Fantasy, Shapeshifter, Werewolves, Romance which totally fit this book and book series. I also noticed that someone has added Urban Fantasy too which I also agree with. This really is a great shifter series that contains everything from the claiming and mate bonding to pack dynamics and how challenges are dealt with along with how misbehavior/wrong doing within packs are dealt with. Also the more unusual aspects of two packs co-existing close to each other as Dean and Grey are doing in this series.

Once again I really, really enjoyed reading this book, I just truly hope it wasn't the last in the series. I still have so many questions about the futures of the characters in this series. I enjoyed meeting the other packs when Grey's and Dean's packs both went to the Summit and shared accommodation. I found the scene description of the male wolves waiting in an airport so funny, all the pacing and these big tough males, two of them alpha's struggling with being round people and then being cooped up in an airplane together too. Poor Logan being teased about his love of gossip magazines

A lot of the action and angst for Morgan happens at the Summit. Morgan even ends up feeling "alone" and distanced from her mate Grey. Grey tends to internalise things and has a just get on with it attitude. Whilst they are at the Summit it becomes apparent both Morgan and Grey are struggling with all the attention on them and their wolves are taking over more and more. In the end Morgan actually speaks to Grey about the fact she needs Grey as himself as well as his wolf. It is soon revealed at the Summit's annual meet that the elders and some of the wolf clans and alphas are quite archaic in their attitudes to women and particularly to Morgan and the possibilities that she may one day produce children so re-population the once thought extinct Silver Wolf Clan. It seems the elders also think they can have a say in what may happen to Lana in the future should she be turned, both Morgan and Grey insist that will be a choice for Lana to make not anyone else no matter how important they think she could be to the Silver Wolf Clan and it's re-population. Other major incidents in the Summit are the male fighting challenge....now I wonder who could enter and win that? There's also a female fighting challenge but no one ever enters that . . . could that all change this year? Would/Could Morgan be provoked enough to fight? 

Favourite characters that have remained so throughout the series are both the main alpha's and their mates Grey & Morgan and Dean & Rachel. I absolutely adored the young teen character of Marissa, she gains so much confidence in both herself and in her new pack, so much so when two males give her unwanted attention and over step the mark she reports back to Grey whose wolf takes immediate action on Dean's advice and challenges the wolves in the fighting ring. Prior to the fights Marissa makes certain gestures at the males and is gleeful when Wolf doles out his own form of justice to them! By the end of this book I was warming up even more to the growing character of Lana too. She comes across as such a cutie yet seems so wise too when prompted to call Grey daddy to irritate other characters, she then ends up calling him daddy anyway with Morgan's blessing. Another totally adorable scene is when she growls when she is eating at the Summit's last night barbeque! Is she merely mimicking those around her or could her own inner wolf be rising to the surface?
We learn a little more about Dean's pack in this book. The fact that Wade the packs doctor is a more dominant wolf than he shows. The way Dean, Grey and Wade have land bordering each other and use all three properties in the regular runs together in wolf form. We see Brent find someone who he would potentially like as a mate but will she be interested when she hears of all the drama that goes on around Morgan, the Silver Wolf? I enjoyed their being more female shifters featured in this book and hope that the series continues and has more female wolves too. 
I also enjoyed the "bad" trouble causing character of Alexis, when will she learn her lesson that she will not manage to come between Grey/Wolf & Morgan/Silver Wolf. Alexis once again tries every tactic she has at her disposal to the point of being reprimanded by various characters including her very own mate Jonathan. How does Jonathan put up with Alexis? Could Jonathan be trouble in the future for Grey & Morgan? At One point in the book something that Alexis says ends up in possible devastation for Grey & Morgan. . . . as for whether Alexis gets her wish you'll need to read the book! I couldn't possibly say but lets just say Alexis truly is a vindictive conniving bitch in this book and knows just how to use the elders expectations for the Silver Wolf Clan rebirth to her advantage!

I also want to find out more about the next chapter for both Dean and Grey's packs, with wolves wanting to pledge to Deans Pack and I'm looking forward to how things could change in Grey's Pack. There is a point in the book where things come to a head with Dean and Grey when Dean thinks more of his wolves may be wanting to transfer to Grey's pack. Is that the real case or is it merely a misunderstanding?

Once again I feel I could go on and on about this book and the series as a whole too but I shouldn't nor want to reveal everything. I just can't explain how great this series is, I'd say if you are a lover of shifter books they are a must read to add to your reading lists. If you love a great kick butt female character then these would be a good recommended read for you too. Other series and authors I would say comparable to the Silver Wolf clan by Tera Shanley are Kelley Armstrong's Women Of The Otherworld Series (which has shifters, witches and more!) Rachel Vincent's and her Shifter Series and her Menagerie Series (with a travelling menagerie of shapeshifters and more!) Amanda Carlson and both her Jessica McClain shifter's series (and for another kick butt female, but more mythology in genre, her Phoebe Meadows series). Back to great shifters there's Karina Espinosa's Mackenzie Grey Series, J.A. Belfield's Holloway Pack, Nikki Jefford's Wolf Hollow Series and Keri Armstrong's The Awakening.

My immediate thoughts upon finishing this book and series so far were, Oh wow amazing! Totally love this book and series! Please tell me there will be more Tera Shanley??? There is so much more this series and it's fantastic characters have left to give. There is the brief appearance of vampire Larius to be built upon along with whatever disaster or action the dragon plans to take against a Silver Wolf Clan being reborn. I'm also looking forward to Lana deciding on what she wants to do or become in the future along with young Marissa eventually being faced with choosing a mate, though I have my own thoughts on who she would/could possibly choose. 

Tuesday, 27 February 2018


Title: Brand Of The Pack
Series: Silver Wolf Clan
Author: Tera Shanley
Genre: Paranormal, Fantasy, Shapershifter, Werewolves, Romance
Publisher: Lyrical Press, Kensington Books
Release Date: 9th June 2015

BLURB from Goodreads
The last of her kind...

As the last of the Silver Wolves, and the only female with the ability to produce werewolf offspring, Morgan Carter is a wanted woman. Male suitors from all packs vie for her, and threaten the safety of her young niece, Lana. But there is only one man Morgan wants...

The last of his control...

Greyson Crawford has been through hell and back for Morgan. And he’d do it again. But until she learns to trust him, and lets him claim her as his own, he can’t fully protect her. When a force more powerful than either have known threatens to tear them apart, can Greyson convince Morgan to accept him as her mate once and for all, before it’s too late?


As soon as I finished Black Dog's Revenge I wanted to continue reading. This series really is addictive reading! So as I had the next book in the series on my kindle I just had to start it right away.

This cover has the beautiful silver wolf in the background, and then Morgan in the forefront in her human form, with her beautifully strange eye colour. Once again the font style and placing of the book titles, series titles and author name is the same as the rest of the series so far. I have liked every cover in this book series so far. They would certainly tell me immediately that they are shifter books and would make me want to pick them up from the bookstore shelf to learn more about them.

Obviously as this is a book series the genres listed are the same as the other titles which are Paranormal, Fantasy, Romance, Shapeshifter and Werewolves. They all fit the book very well and I love a great shapeshifter/werewolf book and if it's as good as Silver Wolf Clan, I am definitely looking forward to reading this one. I really love this series, it's very addictive reading!

So at the end of the last book Grey/Wolf and Morgan/Silver Wolf were reunited so that should mean a quieter, happy ever after ending right? Oh no, no, no! As Grey has yet to claim Morgan as his mate and then go through the ritual of branding the pack that is not the case. Morgan may be now living on Grey's land in the home he built for them but in the eyes of the werewolf community until Morgan is claimed by her mate she is quite literally up for grabs. We know, as does Morgan that Grey would never willingly allow anyone to take her from him but this means he has to show his power and fight anyone that decides to challenge him for Morgan. Morgan eventually gets sick of the challenges and having to be constantly on alert for the next one as well as watching the actual fights, she loses her temper and announces that she will be claimed by the end of the week. Which means she needs to organise a wedding within just seven days. Luckily neither Morgan or Grey want to invite many people. The guests consist of Morgan's mum, Hannah, and the Dallas Pack. I found it funny that just the night before the wedding Morgan and Grey seem to relax only for another challenger to turn up and want to fight Grey in the middle of the rehearsal dinner! Rachel does some fast talking and distracts Morgan's mum Hannah, by asking what she thinks to the different options she has thought of the finish decorating the wedding cake she has made for the wedding. This challenger is a such a dirty fighter and with Grey's mind on the wedding tomorrow he isn't concentrating as much or as sharp as he usually is that Morgan becomes so upset watching whats going on from an upstairs window that she changes into her wolf form and runs through the house past her mother. The quick thinking Marissa explains the "dog" is her fourteenth birthday gift and is called Snowball! 
After the whole wedding ceremony there is the branding to be done too. The branding has to be done with a special silver knife which means its going to be very painful for the werewolves as they can be truly hurt by silver, as it burns them. Due to so many challenges Grey didn't manage to get to the silversmith to pick up the brand himself so it is a task that Dean does. It is also Dean that gives or carves Grey's brand mark onto his arm. Dean also provides some special poultices that make the brand mark heal well so the brand is very clear. Grey is then in charge of doing first Morgan's brand mark as she is his first werewolf in his own pack and then Marissa.

After all this going on you'd think that Grey and Morgan could have a worry free few days for a honeymoon? Well Hannah takes her grand-daughter Lana to give the couple a few days and Marissa announces that she will stay over at the Dallas Pack house but there is the worry of who "the dragon" is and why he/she has been sending prophetic dream warnings to Grey and then sending the beautiful necklace to Morgan on the day of the wedding. 
Once again its clear that the Dallas Pack will still be working closely with Grey and his new pack.

Characters I loved in this book were of course Morgan, Grey, Lana and Marissa. I especially love the scene where Morgan runs through the house in front of Hannah and Marissa just laughs and asks who let Snowball in. Then later Morgan asks Marissa why she couldn't have come up with a better name for her birthday "dog" present. Marissa cheekily laughs and says she thinks the name Snowball is perfect as Morgan's wolf is pure white. It shows how much Marissa feels at home and how much her confidence has improved since hanging around with Grey. I felt a little sorry for Dean when he seemed so sad consenting and "handing" Marissa over from his pack to Grey's pack. You really feel sorry for Dean as even though he will still see Marissa she will no longer be part of his pack. The Dallas Pack has gone from having three females, Rachel, Alexis and Marissa to having just his mate Rachel in his pack.

Again I really loved reading this book and this series, the Silver Wolf Clan is firmly on my favourite shifter series and I have already checked out other books by Tera Shanley as well as learning she writes under a different name also, so those series are on my list to want to read too. If you love shifter series such as Shifters or Wildcats by Rachel Vincent, Women Of The Otherworld by Kelley Armstrong, Holloway Pack by J.A. Belfield, The Awakening by Keri Armstrong or Wolf Hollow by Nikki Jefford then I'd recommend you read this series too! Once again this book is definitely filled with action, and grabs your attention at the beginning, holding onto it until the very end and then....it leaves you wanting even more! So my next read is Summit Of The Wolf! I have asked Lyrical Press an imprint of Kensington Books about the possibility of more titles in this series and they said though there were no plans right now, they wouldn't ever say never! So who knows maybe there will be more to come. I guess I will have a better idea once I've read Summit Of The Wolf which is the fourth and last at the moment.

My immediate thoughts upon finishing this book were Wow totally loving this series! Just when you think all will be well. A bitchy little wolf has a word in the right ear and there's even more trouble looming for Grey n Morgan. Looking forward to reading the next in the series just hoping it isn't the last!

Sunday, 25 February 2018


Title: Black Wolf's Revenge
Series: Silver Wolf Clan
Author: Tera Shanley
Genre: Paranormal, Fantasy, Shapershifter, Werewolves, Romance
Publisher: Lyrical Press, Kensington Books
Release Date: 17th February 2015

BLURB from Goodreads
He’ll risk it all to bring her home.

Morgan Carter witnessed her sister’s murder, has been turned into a werewolf and is now raising her young niece. Then her fiance, Greyson Crawford, proves he wants to be with her for the wrong reasons, and she knows her life couldn’t be any stranger. Devastated, she retreats to her cozy house in the city with her sister’s little girl, Lana. There, they’ll have normalcy, and maybe eventually, even happiness.

But Morgan’s the only living silver wolf. Her uniqueness—the ability to produce werewolf offspring—means, without Grey’s protection, she’s unknowingly put herself and Lana in deadly danger. Other werewolves want to claim her for their pack, and she’s the easiest, most tempting prey ever.

When they strike, Grey has to find her and rescue her before it’s too late. Not so simple a task; he has only the uncontrollable beast inside him, Wolf, and an unlikely pack of allies he’s forced to rely on. Can he get to her in time? And if he does, can he convince her he’s there for the right reasons, saving them both?


After reading and really loving the first book in the series, I couldn't wait to read more about Grey and Morgan. Even though I am on a self imposed book buying ban I just had to break it for this book and the price was an absolute bargain!

The cover has two wolves in the background, one with its head raised in the air howling. I am guessing these wolves represent Grey and Morgan. Once again the the foreground of the book is Morgan with her dark hair and purple/violet coloured eyes. The font style for the book title, book series and author name are all as for the previous book which I think are still perfect for this book and really pull together the different books very well. I'd certainly love to have the full set in paperback on my book shelves.

The genre's I have found listed in various places for this book are Paranormal, Fantasy, Romance, Shapeshifter and Werewolves. They all fit the book very well and I love a great shapeshifter/werewolf book and if it's as good as Silver Wolf Clan, I am definitely looking forward to reading this one.

This book basically picks up where Silver Wolf left off. Grey has proposed to Morgan and she has accepted. The Dallas Pack celebrate the good news with the couple and when the pack become curious about Morgan's eye colour it isn't long until the truth is out that Morgan is in fact a very rare wolf. The Dallas Pack soon learn that Morgan is a Silver Wolf, which is extremely rare and very coveted as it is the only female wolf that can breed. In other words Morgan has become a very prized possession for whoever manages to claim her as their mate and part of their pack. Rachel takes Morgan off to explain why all the unmated werewolves in the Dallas Pack are suddenly fascinated and posturing for Morgans attention, and why Grey is suddenly struggling to control his wolf from fighting them all. Rachel explains that Grey is a special wolf, a beast and that he will need to be to protect her from all the attention she is sure to get from the werewolf community. This leads to a rather big misunderstanding between Morgan and Grey. Grey's wolf  more or less tells Morgan that she is his responsibility to protect and with Morgan already feeling sensitive and used to being independent becomes irritated thinking Grey and his wolf view protecting her and being with her as a duty. Obviously upset Morgan takes Lana and moves back to her own little home in her already sketchy neighbourhood. Morgan tells Grey she needs space to think about what she truly wants. Morgan however doesn't take into account how interesting and how much other wolves will want to claim her for their pack with or without her consent. Grey stands back and gives Morgan time and space to become used to her wolf. He stops going around to Deans so that Morgan has the safety of the Dallas Pack to run with and learn from. In the meantime he purchases the land near the Dallas Pack property and sets about building his own future pack home. Marissa surprises the Dallas Pack and Grey by visiting him and helping him build his home. All the work Grey is doing on his land is with a future pack in mind. Grey still holds onto the hope that Morgan will come back to him.
Morgan simply returns the flowers that Grey sends to her for her and Lana. Lana does ask Morgan regularly when they will see Mr Grey again. The Dallas Pack do not talk about Grey to Morgan and it is Marissa who keeps Grey informed about how Morgan and Lana are and what they are doing. The serious problems begin when it becomes apparent that someone has leaked the information that Morgan is a Silver Wolf. As Dean, Alpha of the Dallas Pack had sworn his pack members to silence about Morgan the only person that wasn't bound by this order and no longer bothered what the Dallas Pack think of her is Alexis. It seems Alexis is still jealous of the fact Grey only has eyes for Morgan. It rankles Alexis even more that she was the one that by biting Morgan triggered her transformation into a wolf, not that she knew Morgan would be a Silver Wolf. 

I feel like I could seriously talk forever about this book and the Silver Wolf Clan series so far.
I love the character of Marissa even more. The way she has confided in Grey how she was made a werewolf and abused by her monster maker. Marissa feels she has that in common with Grey as he was also turned by a monster wolf. Marissa feels more comfortable around Grey as he is naturally protective over her. Viewing her as a younger sibling and is protective of her. The fact Grey is a beast of a wolf and not afraid to growl his anger or frustration if he feels Dallas Pack members Jason and Logan are hassling Marissa also comforts her. Though Dean tries his best to keep Jason and Logan in line, they are also members if his pack and as Alpha he has to keep his male wolves content as well as care for Marissa. Dean and Rachel give their blessing and permission for Marissa to spend time round at Grey's place when Logan and Jason's attention are too much for her.

Morgan soon learns how Marissa felt when she herself is kidnapped by the Montana Pack. The Alpha, John has decided she is to be his. The kidnappers are very clever feigning a kidnap attempt on little Lana, which so easily sends Grey and Wolf off to bring back the child he has come to think of as his own. Though Grey fights Lana's kidnappers he is well outnumbered and they succeed in taking Morgan. Grey is in a seriously injured state, and it is difficult for other wolves to help him when they secretly want fight him in his weakened state to dominate his wolf, and in his injured state he wants to fight anyone and everyone too. It is the smaller, less dominate, submissive Marissa who takes Grey and his wolf under her control to keep him calm whilst Wade arrives and assess the injuries he has sustained.

Can the Dallas Pack Doctor Wade patch Grey up? Grey ends up feeling really sorry for himself, even his wolf feels inadequate and that he is somehow to blame that Morgan is not safe. When Grey and his wolf finally regain consciousness about 24 hours after his attack, he is inconsolable, blaming himself for not sorting things out with Morgan.  vIt is Marissa that snaps him out of this mood, more or less telling him to buck his ideas up and go out there and fight to get his mate back! I think Marissa is the only one that would ever get away with talking to Grey and Wolf in the manner she does.
Can the Dallas pack use their knowledge and resources track where Morgan has been taken? If Grey can rescue Morgan will she accept him and his wolf as hers? Let's just say the Black Wolf does have his revenge but will it be too late for his relationship possibilities and future with Morgan.

This book is definitely filled with action, and grabs your attention at the beginning, keeping a hold of it until the very end and then....leaves you wanting even more!

My immediate thoughts upon finishing reading this book were that is was a brilliant read, I am loving this series so far. Looking forward to reading more. Still loving Grey n Morgan and think Marissa is a brilliant character and could be a fantastic big sister figure to Lana.

Friday, 23 February 2018


Title: Silver Wolf Clan
Series: Silver Wolf Clan
Author: Tera Shanley
Genre: Paranormal, Fantasy, Romance,Shapeshifters, Werewolf
Publisher: Lyrical Press, Kensington Books
Release Date: 4th August 2014

BLURB from Goodreads
Loving him will be legendary...if she can survive it.

What happens when monsters turn out to be real? One summer night while camping in the woods, Morgan Carter finds out in a big way. A tall mysterious stranger, Greyson Crawford, risks his life to try and save her sister from the vicious wolf attacking their camp. When he’s bitten and disappears into the night, Morgan can only assume the worst.

Greyson shows up a year later, and he’s a different animal altogether. His eye color shifts constantly and the rumble in his throat sounds more animal than human. She hasn’t any idea where he’s been all this time, but a good guess as to what he’s become.

Grey is determined not to let the darkness of his new existence affect Morgan and the little girl in her care. He hasn’t been able to stop thinking about Morgan but knows he should stay away and let her live a normal life. That’s easier said than done, though. A new danger pulls him from the shadows to keep her safe, and he’s no wolf in sheep’s clothing.

Can she accept what lurks just below his surface? More importantly, can she survive him?

Amazon US

After recently reading and loving a book with werewolves as the main characters I really felt like I needed to read another shapeshifter genre book and I've had this one on my list and my kindle for a while so decided it was about time I read it.

The cover is quite dark suggesting night time, there is moonlight and in the background there is a beautiful silver wolf. In the foreground is a woman who upon reading the book you realise is Morgan who has long dark hair and blue, almost purple eyes. The cover featuring the wold definitely makes you want to know more so to me does its job well.

The genre's I have seen listed in various places for this book are Paranormal, fantasy, romance, shapeshifter and werewolves. They all fit the book well and I love a great shapeshifter/werewolf book so I am definitely looking forward to reading this one.

The very start of the book felt a little slow but I think it was building a little suspense because then the action begins with the main character Greyson Crawford gets into a fight with a mad wolf that is in the process of attacking Morgan, Lana and Marianne. In the fight Grey manages to protect Morgan and the small toddler Lana, but whilst doing this he is bitten by the mad wolf. 
Then Grey has to go through the madness and craziness of learning that the bit he received has made him a werewolf himself. Grey struggles with the new part of him. His wolf regularly fights Grey for dominance and has an insatiable need to hunt and fight and kill.
Grey learns much more about shifting and learns to come to some sort of a compromise with his wolf when the Dallas Pack reach out to him. Though Grey cannot join this pack as his wolf is clearly an alpha and will take rules and orders from no one, male nor shifter. The Alpha of the pack Dean and his mate Rachel do make Grey welcome and offer him a safe place to change and run as well as being there to talk about any problems he has. The Dalla Pack is unusual in that it has 3 females. One if Rachel who is Dean's mate, then there is their adopted daughter Marissa who is very timid and scared, and there Alexis who we learn Dean turned to save her life. Alexis takes an immediate liking to the new alpha male Grey, but as much as she likes Grey, Grey's wolf hates her. It is Rachel and then Dean that advise Grey how to cope with his wolf finding and being fixated on his mate. They explain to Grey how he will have an overwhelming desire to protect his mate and will worry every moment that they are apart. After introducing Morgan and her niece Lana to the Dallas pack things get out of hand when overwhelmed with jealousy Alexis attacks Morgan. Only Morgan has a surprise of her own concerning the once thought extinct Silver Wolf Clan.

As I said already within my review this book is certainly action packed. Once you are thrown straight into a mad rogue wolf vs human fight. Though Grey doesn't know the young woman and toddler he fights with all he has to prevent the mad wolf getting to them. It turns out to be a fight that cost him is own life as he knew it. Instead he has to get used to attempting to keep this new unruly part of him under some form of control. It seems just as he is learning some control his wolf charges to the forefront again, demanding he take a mate and not just any mate, a very specific woman whom he would give his life for. Though unusual is wolf also is determined to accept and protect his mates niece, who she has adopted after the death of the toddlers mother. Though a wolf would normally have problems caring for another offspring he surprises himself and everyone when he is at his very gentlest with the child and would not hesitate to lay his life down for he either. 

Favourite characters in this book are Grey, Morgan and Lana as they are the main characters. I love how Morgan takes everything in her stride and accepts Grey for what he has become. I also love the hints at the possibility of there being something "other" about Morgan and because of their heritage/bloodline Lana too. Maybe this ancient heritage is why Morgan takes everything so well with Grey and when "it" is revealed to her about herself too. The other character I loved was Marissa, who initially petrified of Grey and his wolf turns out to be the one person to calm him and offer him first aid when no one else can get anywhere near him and his alpha wolf. I also enjoyed the way Marissa immediately took little Lana under her wing too. 

My immediate thoughts upon finishing the book were that the very beginning of the book felt a little slow to start with but by 35% I was hooked and seriously could not put this book down. Looking forward to reading much more of this series as well as reading other titles by Tera Shanley. So I am definitely going to be reading much more of this series, there's so much I want to know. Such as who was the rogue wolf that bit Grey? I also look forward to learning more about the Dallas pack and how Grey and his pack may increase. Also touched on in this book is how unusual it is for two alpha's to exist amicably in the same area so theres so much to play out too. And I don't think for a minute that Alexis will disappear quietly, she seems the type that would hold a grudge! I'm also eager to check out other titles by Tera Shanley.

Tuesday, 20 February 2018


Title: A Very Outlaw Christmas
Series: Outlaw Shifters
Author: T.S. Joyce
Genre: Paranormal, Fantasy, Romance, Shapeshifter
Publisher: Wicked Willow Press
Release Date: 13th December 2017

BLURB from Goodreads
Outlaw grizzly shifter, Trigger Massey, has been on the naughty list most of his life, but things are different now. He’s got a new mate, is in a race to save his ranch, and is the brand-new alpha of the Two Claws Clan. Add to that, his mate, Ava, has a serious problem with Christmas, and Trigger has his work cut out for him. This is his first Christmas as leader of his Clan, and he’s taken it as a personal challenge to make it perfect. The only problem? Ava never wanted perfect. 
Ava Dorset just needs to get through December, set up her business, save the ranch, and be the best mate she can be to Trigger. He’s a big brawler, who raises his fists first and asks questions later. They’re fresh out of a war with the local cougar clan and looking to stay on the straight-and-narrow until she can get their business off the ground, but the boys find trouble wherever they go and they’re demolishing her plans. All she needs to do is get their focus off the holiday, and back on saving the ranch, but the more Trigger works to get her holiday spirit back, the more she thinks perhaps December isn’t so bad.


I have read other titles by this author under a different name so decided to try this shape-shifter series. I decided to read this novella first are it had a Christmas theme running through it and it did say that it could be read as a standalone too. Only time will tell if I should have read For The Love Of The Outlaw first.

The cover has tatooed male on the cover wearing a cowboy hat, an opened plaid shirt and jeans. After reading the novella it is safe to say this cowboy is grizzly bear shifter Trigger Massey. As the series is called Outlaw Shifters the title alone would make me want to learn more about the book. 

The genres I have found listed for this novella are Fantasy, Paranormal, Romance and shapeshifter, which I think all fit it very well.

So this book is centred on the Two Claws Clan, whose alpha is Trigger Massey, a large grizzly bear. Also part of the Clan is Trigger's mate and best friends younger sister Ava Dorset. The rest of the Clan is Colton Dorset, and ex-Darby Clan members Kurt and his 3 year old son Gunner.

The main gist of the novella is about Ava and her hatred of Christmas and anything Christmas related. Ava used to love Christmas when she was younger, it was the only time her dad seemed to care about anything, and did the usual Christmas Traditions with her. That was until one day he packed his car as full as possible with items he could sell to fund his gambling addiction. It was from that day that Ava realised how many of the traditions her dad did with her were actually mostly done by her older brother Colton.
When Colton reveals to Trigger that Ava now hates Christmas and why. Trigger decides he wants to rekindle Ava's love for Christmas, by making new traditions together. Ones they can repeat year after year. 

To be honest I loved all the characters of the Two Claw Clan, from Trigger, the alpha that protects his pack. If anyone has anything to say/do to any of his pack, they have to get past/through him to do it. If they say anything out of line, as one male in this novella calls Ava "the breeder" they are dealt with swiftly and are in no doubt they should never do/say whatever offended ever again. In the case of the male calling Ava "the breeder", well he receives a swift, harsh, fast punch in the face from Trigger!

I adored the sweet relationship between Trigger and Ava. The way it was revealed Trigger had kind of watched over Ava from afar never believing anything would ever become of his love for her.

There's a great camaraderie within the Two Claw Clan, what with the kind of love/hate vibe Trigger and Colton have, as only two guys that have known each other for years can have. Then there's the sort of juvenile jokes etc that Colton also plays on Kurt and the three year Gunner. Even Ava obviously used to also being treat as one of the lads & one of the pack at times acts like "one of the lads". Ava is the only human within the Two Claw Clan at the moment. . . . Who knows what could happen in the future, as mate of the Alpha? 

My immediate thoughts upon finishing the book were. . .When can I read the next one? and Is it out yet? 

The answers to the above questions was that I can read Bk1 whenever I wish as I have bought it from Amazon already. The only thing that bothers me is I sort of didn't look at the numbers of the books and have managed to read Bk1.5 before Bk1!! Will it spoil my enjoyment of Bk1 when I read it? Only time will tell!

I really did enjoy meeting the Two Claw Clan and reading how Trigger and the rest of the guys try to coax Ava to enjoy Christmas once again, and start their very own traditions together. I look forward to reading more books in this series and discovering more about Trigger and his pack.